Gambia unveils squad for friendlies in Morocco

The Gambia Football Federation (GFF) have unveiled a provisional list of thirty-five players that are scheduled to play two friendly matches in Morocco next month.

The Federation, as revealed by Gambia Sports last week, are hopeful of the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) ruling in its favour over the ineligibility of Togo international James Adewale Olufade, a decision that may see the country feature in its first-ever Africa Cup of Nations tournament.

The GFF earlier denied reports that the Scorpions will be facing the Harambee Stars of Kenya in a friendly match next month in France after the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) revealed it has agreed on playing The Gambia.

It has now been confirmed by the GFF that it has arranged two friendly matches against Morocco and Guinea Conakry respectively, with both matches taking place in the North African nation.

The invited list of players will later be trimmed to 26 who will travel to Morocco for the friendlies scheduled from June 3-16.

Saudi Arabia-based Bubacarr ‘Steve’ Trawally, who plays for Al-Shabab Riyadh FC, HNK Hajduk Split midfielder Hamza Barry and Reading FC forward Modou Barrow, have all been named in the squad after being excluded in previous call-ups.

Maiden call-ups have also been handed to FC Porto defender Saidy Janko, forward Aboubakary Kanté of AS Béziers, striker Jibril Bojang of Mjøndalen IF, Nyköpings BIS defender Sal Jobarteh, Lillestrøm SK midfielder Sheriff Sinyan, defender Dadi Dodou Gaye of KFUM-Kameratene Oslo and Virtus Verona goalkeeper Sheikh Sibi.

Wingers Ablie Jallow and Mustapha Carayol both miss out through injuries.

Below is the full list invited players:

1. Modou Jobe - El Kanemi Warriors (Nigeria)

2. Baboucarr Gaye - Armenia Bielefeld (Germany)

3. Bubacarr Sanneh - Anderlecht (Belgium)

4. Omar Colley - Sampdoria (Italy)

5. Sheriff Sinyan - Lillestrøm SK (Norway)

6. Mohamed Mbye - Mjällby AIF (Sweden)

7. Simon Richter - Brønshøj BK (Denmark)

8. Saidy Janko - FC Porto (Portugal)

9. Pa Modou Jagne - FC Zürich (Switzerland)

10. Kristian Brix - KFUM-Kameratene Oslo (Norway)

11. Ibou Touray - Salford City (England)

12. Ebou Adams - Ebbsfleet United (England)

13. Sulayman Marreh - KAS Eupen (Belgium)

14. Yusupha Bobb - A.C. Cuneo 1905 (Italy)

15. Ebrima Sohna - Gambia

16. Dawda Ngum - Brønshøj BK (Denmark)

17. Hamza Barry - Hajduk Split (Croatia)

18. Lamin Jallow - Salernitana (Italy)

19. Aboubakary Kanté - AS Béziers (France)

20. Bubacarr Jobe - Mjällby AIF (Sweden)

21. Modou Barrow - Reading FC (England)

22. Jibril Bojang - Mjøndalen IF (Norway)

23. Musa Barrow - Atalanta Bergamo (Italy)

24. Nuha Marong Krubally - CD Atlético Baleares (Spain)

25. Bubacarr ‘Steve’ Trawally - Al-Shabab Riyadh FC (Saudi Arabia)

26. Yusupha Njie - Boavista (Portugal)

27. Assan Ceesay - FC Zürich(Switzerland)

28. Sheikh Sibi - Virtus Verona (Italy)

29. Mamadou ‘Futty’ Danso - Gambia

30. Sal Jobarteh - Nyköpings BiS (Sweden)

31. Ebrima Colley - Atalanta Bergamo (Italy)

32. Adama Jammeh - Étoile Sportive du Sahel (Tunisia)

33. Muhammed Badamosi - FUS de Rabat (Morocco)

34. Kalifa Manneh - Catania (Italy)

35. Dadi Dodou Gaye - KFUM-Kameratene Oslo (Norway)