Benin unveil squad for Gambia clash

The Squirrels of Benin have announced their team to take on The Gambia on Saturday as the qualifiers for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations returns.

Key players including goalkeeper Fabien Farnolle, defender Khaled Adenon, strikers Mickael Poté and Steve Mounié, are included in the squad though they will have to do without captain Stéphane Sessègnon who is suspended after being sent off in their 1-0 win over visiting Algeria in October.

Coach Michel Dussuyer say they’ll come into Saturday’s encounter against the Scorpions with a view to getting the best result and hope the result of the other encounter go their way.

“The only case scenario for qualifying is to win in the Gambia without Togo beating Algeria and we are going to Gambia to make the best possible result,” he told the press in Benin at the weekend.

“The Gambia is a team I have never faced. They have a good squad with players who play in Europe and it will be necessary to show a good state of mind to return with a good result from Banjul.”

Benin beat The Gambia 1-0 in Cotonou in their opening game of the qualifiers in June last year and are tied on seven points with Algeria in Group D while Togo have five points and The Gambia are bottom with only two points.

Benin Squad:

Goalkeepers: Fabien Farnolle (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Saturnin Allagbé (Chamois Niortais, France)

Defenders: Seïdou Barazé (Moulins Yzeure, France), Khaled Adenon (Amiens, France), Moïse Adilehou (Levadiakos, Greece), Chams Deen Chaona (Stade Gabésien, Tunisia), Emmanuel Imorou (Caen, France), David Kiki (Brest, France), Junior Salomon (United Plateau, Nigeria), Olivier Verdon (Sochaux, France)

Midfielders: Jordan Adéoti (Auxerre, France), David Djigla (Chamois Niortais, France), Jean-Marie Guera (Enyimba, Nigeria), Sessi D’Almeida (Yeovil Town, England), Djiman Koukou (Astra Giurgiu, Romania), Cebio Soukou (Hansa Rostock, Germany)

Forwards: Jacques Bessan (Tunisian Stadium, Tunisia), Marcellin Koukpo (CS Hammam-Lif, Tunisia), Steve Mounié (Huddersfield, England), Jodel Dossou (FC Vaduz, Liechtenstein), Mickael Poté (Adana Demirspor, Turkey), Désiré Segbe Azankpo (FK Senica, Slovakia)