Togo unveil squad for Gambia clash

Togo coach Claude Le Roy has unveiled his squad list of players to face The Gambia in double-header matches in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The Sparrowhawks gaffer included veteran striker Sheyi Emmanuel Adebayor and Premier League footballer Floyd Ayité for the matches in Lomé on Friday 12 October and Tuesday 16 October in Banjul.

Since taking over as Togo coach in 2016, Le Roy has consistently made his early selections public and includes Adebayor in his team, 18 years since the striker made his Togo debut.

Adebayor, who first played for Togo in July 2000, is one of the big star-studded players named for the matches against the Scorpions.

The 34-year-old, who plays for İstanbul Başakşehir in Turkey, has previously had a tempestuous relationship with his country including with current Gambia manager Tom Saintfiet but since Le Roy took over as coach, has been a regular.

The Gambia meanwhile named a 21-man squad that excluded captain Omar Colley, Modou Barrow, Hamza Barry with China-based Bubacarr ‘Steve’ Trawally also continuing to be sidelined.

Togo squad in full:

Goalkeepers – Sabirou Bassa-Djeri (Coton Sport FC de Garoua, Cameroon), Fadil Soumanou (Koroki, Togo), Malcolm Barcola (Olympique Lyon, France)

Defenders – Djené Dakonam Ortega (Getafe CF, Spain), Maklibè Kouloum (Dynamic Togolais, Togo), Tevi Steve Lawson (Livingston FC, Scotland), Adewale James Olufade (Union de Douala, Cameroon), Simon Gbegnon (Béziers, France), Hakim Ouro-Sama (Lille, France)

Midfielders – Lalawélé Atakora (Qabala, Azerbaijan), Franco Atchou (BK Fremad Amager, Denmark), Mathieu Dossevi (FC Toulouse, France), Bilali Akoro (AS OTR, Togo), Abdoul-Razak Boukari (Châteauroux, France), Ihlas Bebou (Hannover 96, Germany), Floyd Ama Nino Ayité (Fulham FC, England), Samuel Asamoah (Sint-Truidense V.V, Belgium)

Forwards – Sheyi Emmanuel Adebayor (İstanbul Başakşehir, Turkey), Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba (Renaissance Sportive de Berkane, Morocco), Ahoueke Steeve Kevin Denkey (Nîmes Olympique, France), Peniel Kokou Mlapa (VVV-Venlo, Holland), Gilles Sunu (Büyükşehir Belediye Erzurumspor, Turkey), Kossi Koudagba (ASCK, Togo)