Gambia coach and captain vote for Salah in CAF awards

A breakdown of the votes for the 2017 CAF African Footballer of the Year showed that Gambia coach Sang Ndong and captain Omar Colley voted for eventual winner Mohamed Salah.

National team coaches and captains, fans and independent media and TV consultants all took part in the vote for the best player in Africa.

Scorpions gaffer Ndong voted for Egypt’s Salah, Senegalese Sadio Mané, Nigeria’s Victor Moses, Cameroon’s Vincent Aboubakar and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in that order.

His captain, Colley, voted for Salah, Mané, Aubameyang, Aboubakar and Morocco’s Karim El Ahmadi respectively.

Meanwhile, the Gambian Bakary Papa Gassama, who was tipped for a fourth consecutive CAF Referee of the Year award, failed to attend the event in Ghana after the Confederation of African Football removed the accolade last month after six referees had originally been shortlisted for the awards.

CAF president Ahmad Ahmad said on the eve of the ceremony in Accra, that the category was dropped to promote strong competition and avoid corruption.

“The referees already have their own awards by being recognized for high profile games. Based on the locations of the referee, they’re rewarded with – say for example – the Champions League quarterfinals and subsequent games,” Ahmad, speaking at the Accra International Conference Centre, said.

He added: “Another argument is that it is unethical. The committee believes that by giving referees awards, it may lead to some corruption at a latter stage.”